By Ashlee

Just to change it up a little, I decided to put up one of the few love poems I’ve written.  I wrote it a while back, but it seems an appropriate poem for the winter.

“Midwestern Love”

You with those Swedish eyes

They reflect the blue sky

And that long blonde hair

Skin far too fair

 

So grow a beard

To protect from windburn

In this Minnesota cold

And meet me in the woods

But only when snow falls

 

Catch white on eyelashes

Watch me freeze

Beneath that sleepy gaze

 

The icy air that cuts our skin 

Makes us feel as bony as bare trees

That have let their needles fall

Blanketing the ground in green

To sleep in winter

 

Put all your layers on

Tell your mama you won’t be long

Meet me beneath the towering pine

Where I’ll be yours and you are mine
Companion Poem:

“The Ragged Wood” by William Butler Yeats

O, hurry, where by water, among the trees,
The delicate-stepping stag and his lady sigh,
When they have looked upon their images
Would none had ever loved but you and I!

Or have you heard that sliding silver-shoed
Pale silver-proud queen-woman of the sky,
When the sun looked out of his golden hood?
O, that none ever loved but you and I!

O hurry to the ragged wood, for there
I will drive all those lovers out and cry
O, my share of the world, O, yellow hair!
No one has ever loved but you and I

