By Ashlee

I wrote this poem after falling for an engaged man (I was unaware of his relational status at the time).

“ The Awards Show” 

Dark cocoa eyes shadowed by a strong brow

Perfect, smart, suited

Falling for you and finding out you are

Betrothed

Well, the award for

“The Fastest and Most Swift”

goes to you in the category of

“Stealing and then Breaking My Heart.”

 

Dismal gray eyes and near white hair

Rugged, soft, barefoot

Wanting you until finding out you are

Dull

Well, the award for

“Suave and Smooth on the Surface”

goes to you in the category of

“First Impressions of Future Lovers.”

 

Daring blue eyes dance and catch light

Rare, beautiful, natural

Loving you until I find you are

Lifeless

Well, the award for

“The Most Epic Love Story”

goes to you in the category of

“Love That Will Go Down in History as Legendary.”

 

 Companion Poem: “The Betrothal” by Edna St. Vincent Millay

Oh, come, my lad, or go, my lad,

And love me if you like.

I shall not hear the door shut

Nor the knocker strike.

 

Oh, bring me gifts or beg me gifts,

And wed me if you will.

I’d make a man a good wife,

Sensible and still.

 

And why should I be cold, my lad,

And why should you repine,

Because I love a dark head

That never will be mine?

 

I might as well be easing you

As lie alone in bed

And waste the night in wanting

A cruel dark head.

 

You might as well be calling yours

What never will be his,

And one of us be happy.

There’s few enough as is

