By Alex

This list is based simply on my own personal taste in films and only includes movies I have seen. I offer little or no apologies if you disagree, and only minimal explanations about why I love them.

1. No Country for Old Men – The Coen Brothers’ finest film—chilling and somehow satisfying without resolving anything.

2. The Royal Tenenbaums – I wish Rushmore was made in this decade so I could put it ahead of this movie. Wes Anderson is one of the greatest filmmakers of his generation.

3. Atonement – I just realized I’m in love with this movie.

4. There Will Be Blood – Delightfully disturbing if there is such a thing.

5. Adaptation – I wish Being John Malkovich was made in this decade so I could put it ahead of this movie. Charlie Kaufman is one of the best screenwriters of his generation.

6. Synecdoche, New York – Roger Ebert says “See it twice.” I say “See it nine times.”

7. Capote – I love Philip Seymour Hoffman and this might be his best film.

8. Punch-Drunk Love – Hard to go wrong with Paul Thomas Anderson. The cinematography is excellent.

9. I Heart Huckabees – An existential exploration in nonsense. Probably Mark Wahlberg’s best film.  I love it.

10. Man on Wire – This documentary is more suspenseful than most movies even though I already know how it ends. It has received a perfect score on Rotten Tomatos. Plus Michael Nyman’s musical score is excellent.

11. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind – A fantastical love story that reveals how hard it can be sometimes.

12. Lost In Translation – Best movie that is almost too slow to watch.

13. The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford – Aesthetically speaking, this is the best movie I’ve ever seen. The cinematography is excellent, the music is just right, and the way it makes me empathize with the criminal continues to fascinate me.

14. American Psycho – Probably the most disturbing movie I’ve seen, but I’m a sucker for twists, and this one really twists, plus the glimpse into 1980s yuppie lifestyle is fascinating.

15. Catch Me If You Can – One of the few Spielberg films that was any good in the Aughts, and my favorite con-man movie of the decade.

16. Howl’s Moving Castle – My favorite animated film of the decade. An intriguing portrayal of fantasy, war, and individual self-worth. A children’s movie with subtle layers of symbolism.

17. Amélie – Possibly the best foreign film of the decade (excluding animation). Cute and lovely.

18. Little Miss Sunshine – Delightful, charming, and funny.

19. The Dark Knight – Heath Ledger’s best performance. Best superhero movie ever.

20. Moulin Rouge – Not sure about the story line but I’m a sucker for musicals and this one is slightly more interesting than Across the Universe (though Across the Universe has a better soundtrack).

21. City of God – I love movies about photography. This one is a lot more than that.

22. The Illusionist – Everyone thinks The Prestige was better. I don’t.

23. Memento – The Backwards-Forwards story-telling is intriguing and keeps me interested.

24. The Fantastic Mr. Fox – Very surprised by how well Wes Anderson adapted stop-motion to portray his style rather than vice versa.

25. Millions – One of the more visually interesting films of the decade, and Danny Boyle’s best.

Honorable Mention: The Departed, Almost Famous, Spirited Away, Pan’s Labyrinth, Donnie Darko, The Squid and the Whale, Hotel Rwanda, Brick, This is England, About Schmidt, Milk, 28 Days Later, Slumdog Millionaire

